DIY Project:: Paper towel solution – Part 1

our new 'paper' towels

our new ‘paper’ towels

I have been preparing my hubby for this day for awhile. The BIG switch– replace his beloved Viva paper towels with cloth.  Yes, it may seem extreme but really it is a progression to less household waste. Our first step to less household waste was using cloth diapers when our second son was born, and this step has been a long time coming too.  They are available for purchase lots of places online, etsy has a great selection {all much cuter than mine}! However, I wanted to make my own— hence the delay {only six months or so…}.

snapping towel set- reusable, eco-friendly. from etsy.com

snapping towel set- reusable, eco-friendly. from etsy.com

Here is how I did it… {without a serger}

January

The next step is to get used to using the towels instead of paper.  I am planning to put the last two rolls of paper towels in the MOST inconvenient spot possible. So, if we want a paper towel we will have to get the step ladder, carry it to the linen closet, and grab the paper towels from WAY on top —- or we can unsnap a towel right on the kitchen counter.  Hopefully this will help us kick the habit.

snap close up--because my tutorial doesn't show it well.

snap close up–because my tutorial doesn’t show it well.

Do you recognize this fabric? it is left over from my DIY table cloth. I love when I can reuse anything. It makes me happy, and my husband is happy I am actually using fabric from my ever growing stash!

we're on a roll!

we’re on a roll!

CHEERS,

DeLynne

3 thoughts on “DIY Project:: Paper towel solution – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Paper Towel Solution :: part 2 | delynne murphy

Leave a Reply

