life lessons for a sports fan

As football season wraps up for us, it has brought up some tough life lessons.

pre-game purees

pre-game purees

Last week, as we cheered on the Fighting Irish for the national title I heard my four-year-old (actually he would correct me and say four-and-a-half-year-old) tell his grandfather that “its okay, Notre Dame always wins”.  Ooo… the final result was certainly heartbreaking for him.

cheer, cheer

cheer, cheer

As it so happens, his second favorite team (per his daddy)– the Green Bay Packers, lost this week in the second-round of playoffs. {If you don’t remember, I wrote about my take on the crazy cheese-head’s here.} Two tough losses for my boys in one weeks time.

making green and yellow cute.

making green and yellow cute.

I looked at it as a life lesson- especially for sports fans. You win, you lose, but really its about playing the game. However, it is heartbreaking to watch my son be so utterly deflated. He truly believes his teams are THE best- simply because he loves them.

danny or clay matthews?

danny or clay matthews?

In fact, he wants to be a football player sooo bad, that he wrote a chart that he keeps in his room to help him stay focused.  It really is too much!

football, practice, listen, eat healthy, learn, exercise

football, practice, listen, eat healthy, learn, exercise

Losing is tough, and I am not sure it ever gets easier— at least it hasn’t for my hubby.

Cheers,

DeLynne

Leave a Reply

